Samsung HW N950 Dolby Atmos Soundbar – Hands On Review



As the first soundbar to come out of Samsung’s California-based audio lab, the HW-K950 Dolby Atmos soundbar was a real gamble. In fact, with its dual wireless surround speakers, 15 drivers (including four fired at the ceiling), and a $1,500 price tag, the K950 might be better described as an all-in, pink-slips-on-the-table bet on Atmos. Luckily for Samsung, going big paid off. While plenty of others have tried, no one has created a true Dolby Atmos surround soundbar that bests Samsung’s first venture into the segment. Until now.

The follow up to the K950, the HW-N950, is even more formidable than its predecessor (and at $1,700, it’s got the price tag to prove it). Boasting new side-firing front drivers for a wider soundstage, support for both Dolby Atmos and DTS 3D surround, and impressive clarity across the board, Samsung’s latest audio powerhouse has once again laid down the track for all other surround soundbars to follow.

SUBSCRIBE FOR THE LATEST VIDEOS
http://bit.ly/DTYouTubeSub

VISIT DIGITAL TRENDS
http://www.digitaltrends.com/

DT Series—
Awesome Tech you can’t buy Yet: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j0Lkq0EjQfk&list=PLZEIwIHCxaFX_dLKzcbRveMM-iIG4J0PN
Innovators: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7NMa2nV1rr8&list=PLZEIwIHCxaFWho_JFi2OwREEnYIkiSGNN
Connect my Crib: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y8nNy0li7Qg&list=PLZEIwIHCxaFU_lCSkTEclp7ihsLGzYUaK

FOLLOW US!
https://www.facebook.com/digitaltrends

https://www.instagram.com/digitaltrends
https://plus.google.com/+digitaltrends/posts

source

33 thoughts on “Samsung HW N950 Dolby Atmos Soundbar – Hands On Review

  • October 4, 2018 at 6:41 pm
    Permalink

    will this soundbar accept Dolby Atmos signal through the ARC port from the TV?

  • October 4, 2018 at 9:44 pm
    Permalink

    Wtf with the led display at the right ? is this serious ? Can u desactivate this shit ?

  • October 11, 2018 at 10:21 am
    Permalink

    I have this soundbar and it's fantastic. I don't have any of those issues. You can adjust all 17 speakers and the sub. You can change or turn off the timer via the smartthings app. Arc works perfect and it's most likely capable eARC Via firmware update if Samsung considers that. As for the design it's modern and beautiful for any household decor. The LED screen size doesn't need to be any bigger than it is. Screen is just for volume, settings, source, Atmos;DTS:X indication. So it's pointless if it was any bigger. Screen is off at all times unless it's being used for that moment.

  • October 11, 2018 at 3:39 pm
    Permalink

    is this Dolby Atmos and DTS-X sound just a fad? And disappear like 3D did?

  • October 22, 2018 at 11:52 pm
    Permalink

    That soundbar look like a damn Bazooka

  • October 25, 2018 at 2:11 am
    Permalink

    Sound bars are a last resort for me. If you can fish wire in walls your going to have better sound. I have a friend that says "my soundbar" "my soundbar" "my soundbar" …. that nice sweetheart.

  • November 5, 2018 at 3:57 am
    Permalink

    I have the K950 and can speak for its quality and performance. While not being able to smash out huge decibels, the K950 is more than adequate for movie and gaming immersive sound.

    The system could use a larger internal settings display, but this is my only gripe. Top piece of kit.

  • November 7, 2018 at 10:47 am
    Permalink

    Anybody know where i can get the same speaker stands for the rear speakers that he has here? or some that are about the same?

  • November 10, 2018 at 9:19 pm
    Permalink

    Bought it, returned it … not worth the money. No calibration, cannot balance between left and right, display sucks, sound is okay-ish for movies, music you want to keep away from this, sub lacks. I was not impressed.

  • November 11, 2018 at 4:58 am
    Permalink

    I have the MS550 with rear wireless speakers and it sounds awesome for TV and movies. Ive had the reciever and floor tower speakers in the past. Im all for minimalism now. $1700 ouch..

  • November 27, 2018 at 8:38 pm
    Permalink

    How would one use the one connect box with this soundbar, or is this is incompatible with the one connect box?

  • December 24, 2018 at 5:10 pm
    Permalink

    Digital Trends, great review. I have a question.. If I just use the Soundbar and the Sub does it render 5.1 or just 3.1? I have no space (yet) to setup the back speakers.

  • January 15, 2019 at 3:45 pm
    Permalink

    All talk. Too much talking. I wanna hear the speaker not you man. Jesus..

  • January 26, 2019 at 12:33 pm
    Permalink

    VRAKASELITE brings me here, guy donated on shroud twitch channel recommending this speaker.

  • February 21, 2019 at 4:28 pm
    Permalink

    Haters gonna hate because they cannot afford to buy this speaker

  • February 27, 2019 at 6:24 pm
    Permalink

    How does this stack up in sound against a Martin Logan Vision (outside of all the tech differences)?

  • February 27, 2019 at 10:42 pm
    Permalink

    Are the rear speakers supposed to only produce sound affects? Like, I play music and I never hear any vocals, just random sounds or it's barely able to be heard when pressing your ear against the speakers. Like very faint music is going thru with random loud noises on certain parts. Is that how the atmos is supposed to be with these things, or do mine not work properly?

  • March 3, 2019 at 5:55 pm
    Permalink

    What make and model are the speaker stands the the rear speakers are on?

  • March 3, 2019 at 5:58 pm
    Permalink

    What are the make and model of the stands that the rear speakers are on?

  • March 23, 2019 at 2:12 pm
    Permalink

    Nice review. Question, if I connect my ps4 via hdmi to the soundbar than what about video from ps4? It has only 1 hdmi port.

  • March 26, 2019 at 5:35 am
    Permalink

    I have wondered if there is a difference in sound between the options of leaving the player plugged into a TV port and using the ARC connection to send sound to the sound bar OR plugging the blue ray player into the soundbar directly with video to the tv via the sound bar ?

  • March 26, 2019 at 9:43 pm
    Permalink

    How would you compare the LG SK10Y with the Lg sk8s rear speakers compared to thia soundbar? Plus i have a LG Oled tv not sure if this Samsung soundbar is as compatible as the LG Sk10y since my tv is a LG

  • March 30, 2019 at 7:09 pm
    Permalink

    I ordered the Samsung N950 but the reviews were so bad i pulled out the sale

  • May 6, 2019 at 2:39 pm
    Permalink

    Do any of Samsung's sound bars have an On screen display? Or do you adjust all settings using the front panel display?

  • May 17, 2019 at 3:29 am
    Permalink

    My best experiences of watching 3D movies on Samsung 3D TV with 3D blu-ray player & Samsung HW N950 Dolby Atmos Soundbar 7.1.4 surround sounds.

Comments are closed.

Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.
Translate »