PlayStation VR review

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ePTTUtuD_d4?modestbranding=1&w=580&h=385]

PlayStation VR is the last of the big three high-end headsets to come out this year, after the Oculus Rift and HTC Vive. It’s also the one you’re most likely to buy. We take a look at the hardware and games of PSVR, and how it stacks up the rest of the pack.

Subscribe: https://goo.gl/G5RXGs

Check out our full video catalog: https://goo.gl/lfcGfq
Visit our playlists: https://goo.gl/94XbKx
Like The Verge on Facebook: https://goo.gl/2P1aGc
Follow on Twitter: https://goo.gl/XTWX61
Follow on Instagram: https://goo.gl/7ZeLvX
Read More: http://www.theverge.com

source

48 thoughts on “PlayStation VR review

  • October 7, 2016 at 9:34 am
    Permalink

    VR basically has to take off, otherwise the gaming market is going to crash big time. We have basically seen everything, played nearly every type of game, and the graphics are pretty much as good as they're gonna get. VR is a way to "restart" so to speak and go back to simple type games, so the gaming market can continue. Eventually VR will only get better, until (WAY far down the road) we are virtually in the game talking to each other with full body motion with the ability to do anything. Do you really expect to see Xbox 9 and PS 10 on a 2D platform? Not gonna happen. Gaming has nowhere else to go at this point.

  • October 7, 2016 at 2:34 pm
    Permalink

    Cut the wire off, double the field of view and stick 4k displays on each eye. That's where VR needs to be.
    With glove controllers and immersive forcefeedback.

  • October 7, 2016 at 3:39 pm
    Permalink

    anyone know what Sony's sales expectations are for PSVR by the end of the year?

  • October 7, 2016 at 6:44 pm
    Permalink

    she said it at the beginning.. virtual reality is still a novelty. Maine stream isn't interested yet because of the low resolution. They need to fix that or it'll stay a novelty.

  • October 8, 2016 at 4:34 am
    Permalink

    What I'd be interested is if the Playstation VR doubles as a display for non-VR games, when you can't use that TV.

    I doubt Sony would want the device to be usable on a PC, but being able to utilize the display connected to a PC can be interesting too, like gaming in bed lol, or just watching anime.

  • October 8, 2016 at 7:52 am
    Permalink

    …..That Moment When AutoPlay Ruins Your Comment. –_–

  • October 8, 2016 at 2:12 pm
    Permalink

    Anyone know where you can buy that stand? Would be brilliant way to store everything in my setup. I have a PS Move Dock but as I have a racing wheel would be great to minimise USB space. Thanks guys 🙂

  • October 8, 2016 at 7:25 pm
    Permalink

    I tried Farpoint and Batman last week at a Sony exhibition in Glasgow and didn't notice any issues what so ever. Farpoin without any doubt is the future of FPS gaming, so accurate with great visuals and very smart control system.

  • October 8, 2016 at 11:37 pm
    Permalink

    is this making us people with glasses get contacts?? kind of feels like we don't have a real choice.

  • October 9, 2016 at 4:55 am
    Permalink

    This actually makes sense to me price wise. Combining this with a PS4 Pro will be the most cost effective solution delivering highest quality of experience per $. The Gear VR looks like the biggest gimmick to me due to that shitty ARM CPU with 1/10th of the graphics power, the only thing is good at is the cinematic mode and that's about it.

  • October 9, 2016 at 7:54 am
    Permalink

    Clunky mess, you also have to plug in your Atari 2600 to your Ps4

  • October 9, 2016 at 8:09 am
    Permalink

    Where can i get this stand for the headset and move controllers?

  • October 9, 2016 at 4:19 pm
    Permalink

    Great review. I love the host, her voice and presentation is great. Well shot and directed to.

  • October 11, 2016 at 1:49 pm
    Permalink

    hi I'm a very ill disabled person and cant leave my room so they are getting me a ps vr oct 13 so I can "travel" in vr but important question do you think it can be used by someone lying in bed maybe propped up but I need at least a soft pillow behind my head to support it? I am thinking if the camera is placed up high and angeled down towards me (btw whats the closest you can get to the camera?) it can read the vr lights and I will be able to turn head left and right and up and down pretty good with vr on on pillow this might work what if your opinion? Thank you very much p.s. they now have a 55" lg oled 4k 3d tv at the foot of the bed I am using now which if pretty immersive for me. btw its ironic I have know about vr and how it can be helpful for a disabled person to get out of their limitations all my life even before I got il and now finally I'm getting vr ironically when I need it the most and in my final months of life lol 🙂

  • October 12, 2016 at 6:25 pm
    Permalink

    Still can't decide PS VR and the Vive. Vive seems technically better but I would have to rearrange my entire room to try to get enough space. And PS VR seems like it has the better actual games but lots of technical issues with tracking.

  • October 13, 2016 at 1:53 pm
    Permalink

    I love Adi's reviews. She's by far the best reviewer I've come across.

  • October 14, 2016 at 5:21 am
    Permalink

    just asking but do you need a tv? so i could just take ps4 and vr and go play somewhere?

  • October 14, 2016 at 12:46 pm
    Permalink

    do you go blind for wearing too long this thing?

  • October 14, 2016 at 10:41 pm
    Permalink

    Great video, thanks for explaining you need to get extra $100 for the camera, I think the camera should be bundled with the $399 box and sell everything for $499, some people may get the box only and be surprised they can't play.

  • October 15, 2016 at 4:49 am
    Permalink

    It's an expensive gimmick at this point in time, I'll wait till it really catches on.

  • October 16, 2016 at 4:12 pm
    Permalink

    wonderfully produced review. considering getting this in the future!

  • October 18, 2016 at 2:47 am
    Permalink

    All I want to know is … will I be able to play horizon: zero dawn using the vr headset? And other normal games?

  • October 19, 2016 at 6:34 am
    Permalink

    More like an advert than a review

  • October 26, 2016 at 4:40 pm
    Permalink

    probably had problems because of the lighting in the room. mine work perfectly fine

  • October 29, 2016 at 2:16 am
    Permalink

    If this comment gets ? likes my said she will get me the PlayStation vr bundle

  • December 11, 2016 at 9:30 pm
    Permalink

    I've had this thing since launch and the only problem I have with it, is the flat screen. It happens when you're not playing games and/or videos that are not VR compatible.The solution to this problem is very, very, simple and only requires a simple update.

    Just make the flat screen curved. That's it! Make it curved so it just covers your peripheral vision on the left and right sides, and the top and bottom of the VR screen. And just before you hit the borders, as you move your head, the screen should then follow that motion, so you don't see any black along the sides. It's an easy patch I'm sure Sony can fix with a simple update.

    Oh yeah, and it has to be 3D compatible with 3D BDs too. Sony has yet to disclose on whether or not their VR is, or can be, 3D compatible.

  • December 20, 2016 at 2:03 am
    Permalink

    Anyone else getting this for Christmas?

  • December 26, 2016 at 6:48 am
    Permalink

    Just to be sure. This works with the first PlayStation model? Because I'm seeing the vr with the PlayStation slim and with the pro but not with the original model. I'm planning to get this so I want to make sure.

  • December 28, 2016 at 6:54 am
    Permalink

    I don't need to buy the Vr launch bundle because I already hav the move controller sitting in dust

  • November 29, 2017 at 2:14 am
    Permalink

    Real talk – I saw this charging station, and it looked tight, compact, comprehensive, and basically all in one. I went on Amazon, and everyone was crapping on it because the headset holder failed, and the goggles would slide off.
    I didn't listen, and I bought the charge station you showed in this video.
    I love it! It just looks like everyone who had their headset slide off, didn't realize they could simply tighten the set to fit as a head would.

  • December 30, 2017 at 7:06 pm
    Permalink

    A good cameraman and an annoying narration:( Somewhat informative content I guess:/

  • January 18, 2018 at 11:35 am
    Permalink

    I have no problem with my VR I think its a blast. It really lets me go off into another reality and got me back playing with my ps4. Its hillarious watching others play on it.

  • March 16, 2018 at 1:48 am
    Permalink

    Thanks for review, im looking to buy one

  • March 20, 2018 at 4:59 pm
    Permalink

    Its the lightest of all the headsets, (weight)

Comments are closed.