Oculus Touch reviewed



Read more: http://cnet.co/2dyISCg
The Oculus Rift didn’t let you reach out and grab things in VR. These controllers change that.

Subscribe to CNET: http://bit.ly/17qqqCs
Watch more CNET videos: http://www.cnet.com/video
Follow CNET on Twitter: http://twitter.com/CNET
Follow CNET on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/cnet
Follow CNET on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/cnet/
Follow CNET on Snapchat: CNETsnap

source

49 thoughts on “Oculus Touch reviewed

  • October 16, 2016 at 8:23 am
    Permalink

    Why why even make these? oculus cant even sell 100k headsets in 7 months….neither could vive….psvr just 10 folded both companies in one single day. Rip to the pc headsets, move on to travel vr where you belong. you have no future in in the gaming market with the best headset for gaming psvr.

  • October 16, 2016 at 11:27 am
    Permalink

    grabbing a gun in VR will get you shot in real life tho bro

  • October 16, 2016 at 1:13 pm
    Permalink

    Bah, the title says "review" but this is just a first impression without much comment on the controllers.

  • October 17, 2016 at 4:08 am
    Permalink

    great review but man this guy's comments while using them were dorky as shit. no acting career in his future.

  • October 17, 2016 at 6:12 am
    Permalink

    I tried it at a demo with oculus and touch and when my session ended, I didn't want to come back to reality

  • October 17, 2016 at 1:41 pm
    Permalink

    I guess the real question isn't whether the controllers are as good as the vive (seems comparable) but how much extra it costs for another 2 cameras and the controllers. Also is the processing requirements increased alot, I seem to recall the caveats of using laser positioning for the vive being that tracking is computationally cheap, views from cameras need to be buffered and processed somewhere.

  • October 27, 2016 at 10:55 pm
    Permalink

    I a bit confused on what to buy the oculus with that oculus smell and the touch or the htc vive?
    HELP

  • October 28, 2016 at 12:55 pm
    Permalink

    Does the touch give vibration feedback?

  • November 12, 2016 at 5:21 pm
    Permalink

    For 600 dollars plus the cost of the controllers, PLEASE just get an htc vive. Way more games and much more immersive.

  • November 15, 2016 at 2:50 am
    Permalink

    I think that this type of video should start being called overviews rather than reviews.

  • November 18, 2016 at 11:50 am
    Permalink

    There was nothing told about haptic feedback. I must presume there is none.

  • November 22, 2016 at 3:01 am
    Permalink

    "Room scale"…If you watch closely you'll see that he never turns around.

  • November 26, 2016 at 7:39 am
    Permalink

    So many Oculus fan's in this comment section screming about how the Oculus is now 'better' than the vive. The oculus has been playing 'catch up' for ages and now it finally has the exact same experence to offer (hardware wise). Dont act as if, now that your staple product is finnnnnaly delivering, that it is suddenly the shit. Stop being so biased lol and get some perspective. Both a good, I would say that the games made for the Oculus may have an edge but only time will tell.

  • November 27, 2016 at 6:26 pm
    Permalink

    Question, does it come with some sort of wireless connector? How do the controllers connect to the PC?

  • November 28, 2016 at 7:48 pm
    Permalink

    Yesterday I was sure I was going to pick up a VIVE in store however, after seeing this I'm sold on the rift, I don't mind waiting a few more weeks. This looks too fun.

  • November 29, 2016 at 2:46 am
    Permalink

    clickbait headline. You would think cnet would be above this kind of crap

  • November 30, 2016 at 1:37 am
    Permalink

    Oculus touch looks pretty awesome. I'm not sure how much a difference this "hand presence" is going to make though, your still holding a controller using a analog stick and pressing buttons like any other controller. seeing your fingers move though is pretty neat.

  • December 2, 2016 at 3:29 am
    Permalink

    why all those big rings around every hand? I think it's just about design going useless practically.

  • December 5, 2016 at 10:05 pm
    Permalink

    Tomorrow… less than 24 hours before they arive. =D

  • December 20, 2016 at 12:35 am
    Permalink

    How is this not a "review"?

    There should be an IQ test for access to the internet.

  • December 22, 2016 at 7:24 pm
    Permalink

    I just got my touch controllers and after trying several games I realize that I don't really like the touch/motion controller, roomscale types of games in VR. I don't like all that movement to control things. I'm a lazy old school gamer and I really just want the normal game types using the VR headset and getting the 3D immersion but just using a controller, sitting down, or even using my tried and true Mouse/Keyboard. I just want to play games like Fallout, WItcher, Elite Dangerous, Alien Isolation, etc.. but with fuller immersion from the headset. I think the VR developers are over complicating the market shooting for more of a Wii type of audience and I really believe that will prove either a fad, or a big offshoot from the main gamer population.

  • January 16, 2017 at 4:55 am
    Permalink

    I can't find an actual review of these they all just talk about what they do. they won't talk about quality or experience

  • January 27, 2017 at 5:18 pm
    Permalink

    This is NOT a review, this is an advertisement for Oculus Touch VR. Shame on you.

  • January 30, 2017 at 9:38 pm
    Permalink

    Looks BORING! Every arcade game with a laser gun is more fun than this!

  • March 1, 2017 at 10:36 pm
    Permalink

    Just thought about Microsoft possibly using Kinect tech for VR when Scorpio VR is released. Finally hand movements and voice commands will actually be useful! I bet they improve it so it will be more accurate and pin point where your fingers are.

  • March 23, 2017 at 7:30 pm
    Permalink

    I got my Oculus CV1 w/touch bundle last week. So far are I'm loving it. Playing lot of Serious Sam VR – TFE using classing movement. No motion sickness at all.

    Once I got my room setup for optimal area. The room presence tracking and touch controllers are dead on accurate. I played on the Vive. I like the Oculus/Touch better.

    Using the Analog Sticks for movement in Serious Sam feels completely natural. I can strafe, backpedal all your normal FPS movements. It also uses room presence to I move in my room area. Duck around corners, crouch.

    Best of all is the Dual Wielding, Touch aiming. It makes mouse aiming completely obsolete.. Most of the time, just have double barrel shot gun in the left hand, Pistol in the right.

    Serious Sam is fast pace with a ton of crap coming at you. The movement is fast, I had no issues with motion sickness, nor have any of my friends. A couple get a slight sensation when going up/down stairs.

    I wish all FPS shooters could support VR and Motion controllers in this fashion.

  • August 31, 2017 at 2:08 pm
    Permalink

    We need an Oculus Touch game like Saint's Row, where you're basically a superhero in an open world. Preferably with more action everywhere, just making it really fast-paced. Much like the new DOOM. So, VR DOOM's Row, can we get it?

  • September 4, 2017 at 11:47 pm
    Permalink

    This is cool but when I heard Oculus TOUCH I had assumed a controller that simulated textures you felt in game

  • January 4, 2018 at 6:39 am
    Permalink

    Ohh so that how people show the middle finger on vr

Comments are closed.

Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.
Translate »