GoPro Hero 6 Black – Hands On Review



SUBSCRIBE FOR THE LATEST VIDEOS
http://bit.ly/DTYouTubeSub

In the tech world, there is an expectation that we will get more for our money next year than we do this year. Or, that we’ll be able to get today’s features for a lower price tomorrow. GoPro apparently has a different philosophy. The company recently introduced a new flagship action camera, the Hero6 Black, at $500. The Hero5 Black remains in the product line at $400 — the same price it held when it launched a year ago (the Hero5 Session also stays on at its original price of $300). This gives customers a less than ideal choice: get last year’s features at the same price, or spring for the latest and greatest at a new and higher price.

The first thing that jumps out about the Hero6 Black is, well, nothing. It looks identical to the Hero5 Black, save the “HERO6” branding and a power button logo on the, um, power button (the Hero5 labeled the button for its secondary function, HiLight tagging). It is very easy to mistake the Hero6 for the Hero5, so if you own both cameras, you might want to put a sticker on one to clearly differentiate it.

But don’t let the familiar exterior fool you; the Hero6 is no mere incremental upgrade. It introduces a host of new features, many of which are possible thanks to a custom-designed processor called the GP1. Frame rates have been boosted across the board: 4K can be shot at 60 frames per second (fps) and Full HD 1080p at up to 240 fps, both of which are twice what the Hero5 could do at those resolutions.

If you’re an early adopter and don’t mind shelling out a little more money, you will be very happy with the Hero6 Black.

VISIT DIGITAL TRENDS
http://www.digitaltrends.com/

DT Daily: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL8110CBCACD741FEC
DT Originals: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLEA870D36335F60D2
DT Podcasts: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLZEIwIHCxaFVemFMYm9Uqixqt7RxRJnhf

FOLLOW US!
https://www.facebook.com/digitaltrends

https://www.instagram.com/digitaltrends
https://plus.google.com/+digitaltrends/posts

source

17 thoughts on “GoPro Hero 6 Black – Hands On Review

  • October 11, 2017 at 1:46 pm
    Permalink

    Watching this on my 4 year old HTC one mini at 720p and it looks very crisp. Was about to buy a hero 4 black on sale when the 5 came out and now there is already a 6 available,.. where have I been sleeping? Great review!

  • October 19, 2017 at 1:03 am
    Permalink

    Appreciate the honesty of the review, but the concluding comment left me baffled.
    "Hard to go back." But to what? Would you take this over the 5, 4, 3+ with a gimbal, Sony???? Please answer.

  • October 19, 2017 at 2:31 pm
    Permalink

    I notice you're not answering any of your viewer comments, but I'll take a chance and ask anyway… do you know that the closest focus distance is? Is it one foot? Closer? Farther? Thanks, and viewers love it when you respond to their questions 🙂

  • October 23, 2017 at 4:53 pm
    Permalink

    When doubling the frame rate, there's a need to increase about 50% the bitrate, not double it. H.264 uses similarity and motion between frames, and when frame rate increases, each frame is more similar to the previous and with less motion.

  • December 12, 2017 at 3:32 am
    Permalink

    Is it electronic stabilisation or optical?
    U mentions electronic stabilisation

  • December 12, 2017 at 9:21 am
    Permalink

    gopro need to put a 1inch sensor in it for the price. as clever as the stabilisation is it will never beat a good gimbal which are ubiquitous if you give more than a casual toss about video quality so I fon't see them capturing the imagination of buyers when austensibly it is the same regurgitated sh1t again for more money and a single benefit covered by other products and the down side of less water proofing.

    they take away the casing and try and sell you the 10m water resitance while the older genz had 30m with the case. gopro needs to do something radically brilliant and different if it is to capture the essence of its beginnings. over mature product they new great product as they will never compete with the Chinese.

  • December 12, 2017 at 1:40 pm
    Permalink

    Hello all,

    That's a nice review, thanks.

    When my GoPro Hero 6 arrived, I thought it was a mistake.

    GoPro Hero 6 is almost identical with Hero 5 in terms of physical appearance.

    After I charged my GoPro Hero 6 Black, took some photos (you can take HDR photos with Hero 6!!), my camera started to freeze. I updated the software, but this didn't solve the problem. Then I found out that the issue is with the SD card. I bought GoPro Hero 6 as a bundle, with an SD card that I haven't heard before.

    Than I red a review from http://www.divewithseaman.com/why-you-should-and-should-not-buy-a-gopro-hero-6/ and found out that I have to use SanDisk Extreme, Extreme Plus,Extreme Pro UHS Video Speed Class 30.

    I bought SanDisk Extreme 32 GB and the issue solved.

    I loved the dynamic range and the bright colors with GoPro Hero 6, however, sound is worse than Hero 5.

    As a skater, I am able to create high quality slow-mo's with this camera.

    Annd, don't forget to check QuikStories ;))

    This is all I can say for now.

    Take care.

  • January 3, 2018 at 1:47 am
    Permalink

    You don't need a monster of a computer to play 1080p @ 60fps. My now 2.5 year old PC can play 4K @ 60fps just fine with ease. Also, no, you don't double the bitrate just because the framerate doubles. Remember, when you increase framerate, things in the scene are not only less likely to change between frames, but when they do, they don't change as much. This means less data is needed to store those (on average) smaller and less defined changes.

  • January 11, 2018 at 12:31 pm
    Permalink

    1:53 No you wouldn't expect double the bitrate. Anyone who's heard of video compression wouldn't.

  • January 30, 2018 at 2:38 am
    Permalink

    Guess what, the new prices are $300 and $400 as you wanted.

  • January 30, 2018 at 7:19 am
    Permalink

    I use my Nikon action camera for almost everything, only it macro mode is weak and the zooming is real jerky. Most other cameras are not flexible for a wide variety of uses but I really need something with a wider field of view that does not have have fish eye distortion.

Comments are closed.

Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.