Dell XPS 13 9380 (2019 model) – Full Review



The Dell XPS 13 for 2019 was just unveiled at CES 2019, but Digital Trends got our hands on one early and have a full review with what is certain improvement on the best laptop of 2018.

We’ve always liked the Dell XPS 13 and found it as one of our favorite Windows devices. But how can Dell make an already great laptop even better? The answer to that question? Put the webcam back on top and upgrade the internals to Whiskey Lake processors to pack more punch.

Ever since its release in 2015, the Dell XPS 13 has been our favorite Windows laptop. Pioneering the slim-bezel design and excellent performance, it has been hard for other laptop makers to beat. So, how can an already perfect laptop get even better?
For 2019, Dell has listened to feedback from consumers and is introducing a couple of big changes that make the XPS 13 better than ever. We had some hands-on time with the device to see how it’s evolved this year.

The 2019 Dell XPS 13 keeps the same thin and light design as its predecessors. Though coming in a new brighter artic white women glass carbon fiber palm rest, and new frost exterior options, the overall feel of the laptop is the same.
Still, the new color options are outstanding, making the soft silk-feeling palm rest areas on XPS 13 stick out from the more generic metallic or black finishes on ThinkPads and MacBooks. The new frost lid is also a departure from previous rose gold color options and provides even more choice for people looking for extra pizazz in their laptop.
Just as with the 2018 model, we did feel just a tiny bit of chassis flex when putting extra pressure on the areas near the top of the device. It’s not something we’d expect the average person to notice, but it’s something we also noticed with the Dell’s 2018 Inspiron 7000 as. Other areas such as the lid and palmrest of the XPS 13 remain as solid as ever as Dell is using Corning Gorilla Glass 4 for maximum strength and minimal weight.
Elsewhere, Dell has engineered a new “variable torque hinge” to make the laptop easier to open. In our hands-on time, we opened it up and closed the laptop quite a few times with just one hand. It now feels much smoother. This was always an issue with the XPS 13, and It comes as a big change from previous models, which had a tight lid and required two hands to open.

SUBSCRIBE FOR THE LATEST VIDEOS
http://bit.ly/DTYouTubeSub

VISIT DIGITAL TRENDS
https://www.digitaltrends.com/

DT Series—
Behind the Wheel:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5XpfdRhHgyU&list=PLZEIwIHCxaFXVeqr527QvNAGf-hhUohdM

Awesome Tech you can’t buy Yet:

Innovators:

Connect my Crib:

FOLLOW US!
https://www.facebook.com/digitaltrends

https://www.instagram.com/digitaltrends
https://plus.google.com/+digitaltrends/posts

source

40 thoughts on “Dell XPS 13 9380 (2019 model) – Full Review

  • January 13, 2019 at 1:12 pm
    Permalink

    So few people use that camera in real life that it was really only a problem for the people reviewing the equipment. The last time I used a webcam at all they weren't standard on laptops yet.

  • January 13, 2019 at 2:34 pm
    Permalink

    Something seems off here. If the screen bezel at the top is slightly larger – and – the rest of the unit is the same – then the screen physically cannot be as big from top to bottom? Agreed that this would be a fairly minute difference, however, there has to be some change to either pixel count or density or both. What gives?

  • January 13, 2019 at 6:57 pm
    Permalink

    Dell has the worst quality control I have ever experienced. First Xps 9570 they sent me kept shutting down, second replacement laptop they sent me the power button fingerprint didn’t work, third replacement laptop has video graphics card issues which results in blue screen. The customer service sucks and I can barely understand the person due to a thick indian accent. Buying dell has been the worst decision ever, this mistake cost me $2k. FML

  • January 15, 2019 at 3:05 am
    Permalink

    Do not like white ! Appears on the Dell site you can't get the silver/black for 899 like the white ! Dell is playing games ! Seems you need to spend 1299 & up to get black ! Really ! Can you reply or someone from Dell make me happy with a black option for 899 or even 999 I'm ready to buy today but white is for woman

  • January 15, 2019 at 9:55 am
    Permalink

    So it's goodbye Hello. Given that I don't use the webcam I'm glad I bought the 2018 model.

  • January 15, 2019 at 3:22 pm
    Permalink

    WHO CARES ABOUT THE WEBCAM, EVERY LAPTOP VIDEO "but the webcam, derpaderpaderp" WHY

  • January 15, 2019 at 4:50 pm
    Permalink

    Umm you are wrong about how you can now use a 2tb hdd on it. my 2018 version i installed a 2tb samsung m.2 drive and works brilliantly

  • January 16, 2019 at 3:15 am
    Permalink

    I've had the 9350 for about 4 years now with the 4k screen and it's been rock solid. I did have to replace the power brick last year. I'll be looking at another XPS 13 soon. Could this be released with an OLED anytime soon?

  • January 17, 2019 at 10:05 am
    Permalink

    Does still uses the fossil GTX 1050 as the top available GPU? I like the 15" version and for me the XPS are a good mix between quality materials, nice design and low weight, but in terms of performance that card is meh…

  • January 17, 2019 at 10:23 pm
    Permalink

    wtf y bla bla bla bla I use XPS 13 and periodicly miss sound. I rescued reboot. But for device with 1800$ isnt norm. As a positive, I'd say the screen. 4 k is really good.

  • January 18, 2019 at 9:02 pm
    Permalink

    WHITE NOTEBOOKS HELP TO PICK UP GIRLS. Girls, unable to understand the value of a Dell Latitude or a ThinkPad will say: "Oh, dear, it is ugly, looks like a box". But the white notebook , they will love it and start a conversation without a problem. "Oh (they start like that), I didn´t know they make ´em white now.

  • January 19, 2019 at 10:33 am
    Permalink

    TLDW – Too Long Didn't Watch

    It's basically the same laptop from last year except the privacy intrusive webcam is situated at the top now where it can see you better as you watch your favourite homemade videos.
    oh and if the reviewer isn't talking about the quality control of this product, it's probably because he hasn't thoroughly reviewed it or is shilling.

    If it's another run of the mill marketing review, then said reviewer will talk about the new webcam, then probably relate it to windows hello then he'll delve deep into any fingerscanning, performance, battery and so on.

    thank me later

  • January 19, 2019 at 3:31 pm
    Permalink

    I have bought one XPS 13 in Laos, the main board has broken in a warranty period, until now I have not get it repared and I have been waiting for it almost 4 months. If you want to buy this …reconsider!

  • January 20, 2019 at 3:46 am
    Permalink

    hello. how to become a reviewer of laptops. and the company shipped new devices to you for free. I would like to start doing this too. could someone explain how to start. what need to be done

  • January 20, 2019 at 3:31 pm
    Permalink

    webcam is never a issue, matter of fact, dell can even get rid of the web cam to make the bezel thinner. if you want a proper webcam just get a usb external webcam.

  • January 21, 2019 at 2:00 am
    Permalink

    You took more than 3 minutes to talk about a webcam and hinge. I want to know about performance, monitor quality, and compatibility with E-GPUs. The webcam is a footnote.

  • January 22, 2019 at 8:24 pm
    Permalink

    Please answer. Does it have coil whine or fan problems? It's important to me because i wanna buy it

  • January 23, 2019 at 8:05 am
    Permalink

    Review is incomplete,how about reviewing the performance???

  • January 23, 2019 at 11:55 pm
    Permalink

    No one seems to mention the annoying coil whine and the wifi connectivity issues.

  • January 24, 2019 at 12:20 am
    Permalink

    This review is boring, no details on tech specs, battery life

  • January 26, 2019 at 4:11 am
    Permalink

    How about coil whining?
    Also how about battery life? And thermal throttling?

  • January 26, 2019 at 10:13 am
    Permalink

    this is not a damn review. you barely even went through the specs. all you did was cosmetics. no one gives a shit about that

  • January 28, 2019 at 7:49 am
    Permalink

    "Actually has some accurate colours" doesn't really inform us about the accuracy rating of the laptop's display.

  • January 29, 2019 at 2:36 am
    Permalink

    Im buying mine in a few weeks and i can't wait!! I've yet to decide on a color though. That white deck is super sharp! But black is classic!

  • January 30, 2019 at 11:20 am
    Permalink

    Well I don't care. Because I have a dell xps 15 2 in 1. Just put in tent mode so it is fine.

  • February 3, 2019 at 10:30 am
    Permalink

    Bullshit max mrp price tag ! For dells it can fucks up
    Company works services or Popularty
    Popularty increasing value of product
    And popularty was for selling product!

  • February 4, 2019 at 12:25 pm
    Permalink

    Just remove the webcam and make the screen edge to edge. Basically no borders.

  • February 7, 2019 at 6:32 am
    Permalink

    A 72Wh battery would make it even more perfect

  • February 9, 2019 at 1:21 pm
    Permalink

    7 years ago, i was using dell vostro, battery life is so short, after 3 months, the notebook can only run with battery in 45 mins. So I don't trust dell battery anymore.

  • February 11, 2019 at 12:12 pm
    Permalink

    2:25 Dell actually include this in their advertising material, yet it doesn't even work.

Comments are closed.

Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.
Translate »