Amazon Fire TV (3rd Gen) – Hands On Review



Amazon took a surprising turn replacing its well-received Fire TV set-top box with a dongle-style device.

Can the new Fire TV provide streamers with everything they need? We find out in our Amazon Fire TV review.

SUBSCRIBE FOR THE LATEST VIDEOS
http://bit.ly/DTYouTubeSub

VISIT DIGITAL TRENDS
http://www.digitaltrends.com/

DT Daily: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL8110CBCACD741FEC
DT Originals: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLEA870D36335F60D2
DT Podcasts: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLZEIwIHCxaFVemFMYm9Uqixqt7RxRJnhf

FOLLOW US!
https://www.facebook.com/digitaltrends

https://www.instagram.com/digitaltrends
https://plus.google.com/+digitaltrends/posts

source

40 thoughts on “Amazon Fire TV (3rd Gen) – Hands On Review

  • November 10, 2017 at 4:23 pm
    Permalink

    You completely skipped the real advantage of the Amazon Fire TV devices which is ability to side load apps like KODI. Roku and Apple won't let you do that. Also HDMI extension cables are super affordable and will solve your installation issues. You can also buy HDMI adapters that add ethernet if you need that but most people won't.

  • November 25, 2017 at 6:56 pm
    Permalink

    I'm done with Amazon….I'll have the NVIDIA for 2018!

  • December 2, 2017 at 10:25 pm
    Permalink

    all it is is just a cable box. sorry no thanks

  • December 3, 2017 at 5:48 am
    Permalink

    Yeah the thing about the fire tv is that it might wear down that HDMI port overtime

  • December 4, 2017 at 4:15 pm
    Permalink

    I like the firestick. I have a powered OTG USB cable that I can connect a USB hub to and connect a full keyboard mouse combo, side load Kodi and a few emulators. I connect my Gamesir G4S controller to it and play minecraft, GTA San Andreas, and GTA Vice City on it.

  • December 19, 2017 at 5:22 pm
    Permalink

    I had a first gen Fire TV and loved it. I ordered this thing to compliment my new 4K HDR TV and was expecting the same positive experience. Nope. 1.) There's no way to hard wire this to your router, meaning its WiFi or nothing. 2.) It's a dongle. What if you don't want a device dangling from one of your HDMI ports like a string of snot from a crying kids' nose? Piss poor design on Amazon's part. 3.) YouTube may not be available any longer of Fire TV come Jan 1st. Sorry, but a streaming device without a functioning YouTube app is about as useless as a pair of men's boxer shorts in Bruce Jenner's underwear drawer.

    I sent this donged-up dongle back to Amazon for a refund.

  • January 10, 2018 at 10:03 pm
    Permalink

    Still Mibox is better than amazon because of in amazon you cant feel freedom and you have to subscribe for both internet connection and his apps for wstching channels or contains.this is worst.Is amazon is showing it in free or we want to subscribe its contents or apps? If that say subscribe our apps for watching tv then it was worst for me.Because of i have to pay double money , at firat we have to pay for internet connection and amazon want to subscribe his apps.This equals to destroy and drain your pocket at that time.

  • February 10, 2018 at 4:46 pm
    Permalink

    Or a HDMI extension cable so you can lay it flat on your entertainment center.

  • February 15, 2018 at 5:44 am
    Permalink

    I'll stick to my Roku it seems the only thing I like more with this is the voice search over slow ass remote typing

  • February 26, 2018 at 9:10 am
    Permalink

    Must not be selling well as it is $49.99 now.

  • March 12, 2018 at 10:05 am
    Permalink

    i just trashed my firestick and got one, has anyone had a problem with these overheating like the firesticks do, if they do overheat i was planning on pulling the board out of the box and putting a fan on top of it, worked very well on my firestick

  • March 19, 2018 at 3:02 am
    Permalink

    You don't have to use Velcro. Get a HDMI cable and female to female adapter. I'm using a 2mtr HDMI cable and the adapter which I got with My old fire stick. You can buy them from Amazon or off of eBay.

  • April 7, 2018 at 9:22 am
    Permalink

    sorry but I don't think you can control your TV volume either power with amazon remote control …

  • April 10, 2018 at 11:30 pm
    Permalink

    Heard that it connects and dangles heavily from your HDMI port, over time eventually breaking it and ruining your TV.

  • May 21, 2018 at 12:05 am
    Permalink

    The downfall I found with the Amazon Fire TV was you can’t use Bluetooth headphones. The connection SUCKS really bad. I’ve tried it.

  • June 2, 2018 at 3:06 am
    Permalink

    Can I browse the internet with a Google Chrome browser?

  • June 2, 2018 at 4:50 pm
    Permalink

    Trouble is you have to put up with TV sound which is crap, why not have a dongle that plugs into a receiver so you get great picture and stereo sound quality from the hifi or even surround depending on the broadcasts of course.

  • July 16, 2018 at 3:55 pm
    Permalink

    If you're going to put your fingers on the internet for 150k people in 4k, do yourself a solid and get a manicure. They're $20.

  • July 28, 2018 at 5:35 pm
    Permalink

    Can you screen mirror IOS or Android phone/tablets to this thing?

  • August 5, 2018 at 8:23 pm
    Permalink

    I order this for the screen size and the memory. It did NOT disappoint me.>>>t.co/Qs160TYi8T  This was great to have while on my flight to Chicago. Watched a couple of movies.

  • August 24, 2018 at 1:24 pm
    Permalink

    I just bought my this for 31 dollars on amazon. I had a amazon 10dollar promotional discount. so instead being 41 dollars I got It for 31 so hey why not lol. other brands wouldn't discount a pennie lol.

  • September 13, 2018 at 3:17 pm
    Permalink

    if I have a 1080p hd tv should I set my fire tv to 1080p 60hz or set it to auto???

  • September 27, 2018 at 3:12 am
    Permalink

    bwink23… I also – I cant believe it doesn't have a hard-wired internet connection, that's ridiculous. Who wants more data passing through a single point on your router. I already have too many devices hitting the wi-fi. Now, 4K data streams???

Comments are closed.

Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.